实务指引

有关促进依香港国际仲裁中心规则进行的仲裁的管理的指引

香港国际仲裁中心可不时发布实务指引,以补充、规范和施行其机构仲裁规则,促进对依其规则进行的仲裁的管理。

 

仲裁费用实务指引

自2008年开始全面管理案件以来,香港国际仲裁中心为当事人提供了一项独特的预见和控制费用的方式。除2013《机构仲裁规则》附录1清楚列明的较优惠的管理费外,当事人还有确定仲裁庭计费方式的选择——或以争议金额为基础计(附录3),或按小时费率计(附录2)。

2013年,为提高仲裁员指定程序的效率,香港国际仲裁中心推出了统一的仲裁员任职条件 (当事人可协议修改) ,所有依2013年规则指定的仲裁员均得接受。如此统一,是为简化和加速当事人和他们拟指定的仲裁员间的磋商过程,促进实质程序早些开始。香港国际仲裁中心发布了两份实务指引,帮助当事人和仲裁员施行统一的仲裁员任职条件:

 

质疑仲裁员

在由香港国际仲裁中心按下述任一套规则管理的仲裁中对仲裁员的质疑,都将由香港国际仲裁中心循《香港国际仲裁中心质疑规则实务指引》所规定的程序决定:

  1. 2013 香港国际仲裁中心机构仲裁规则;
  2. 2008 香港国际仲裁中心机构仲裁规则;
  3. HKIAC发布的任何其他指定由香港国际仲裁中心决定对仲裁员的质疑的规则;  
  4. 2010 UNCITRAL 仲裁规则(包含2013年推出的第1款第4段与否); 或
  5. 1976 UNCITRAL 仲裁规则

此外,当事人同意在仲裁中适用《实务指引》的,上述同样适用。

《实务指引》于2014年10月31日生效,并取代2008年3月25日采用的《香港国际仲裁中心质疑规则》及2013年11月1日生效的《质疑规则实务指引》。为予明确,本《实务指引》应视为 2008 《香港国际仲裁中心机构仲裁规则》第11.7款所指的《质疑规则》。

分享

Practice Notes

HKIAC may from time to time issue practice notes to supplement, regulate and implement its Administered Arbitration Rules for the purpose of facilitating the administration of arbitrations governed by those Rules.

  • Practice Notes on Costs of Arbitration

Since it began fully administering cases in 2008, HKIAC has offered parties a unique ability to foresee and control the costs of their proceedings. In addition to the clear and competitive schedule of administrative fees set out in Schedule 1 of the 2013 Administered Arbitration Rules, parties to an HKIAC administered arbitration also have a choice as to the determination of the tribunal’s fees – calculated either on the basis of the amount in dispute (Schedule 3), or on the basis of agreed hourly rates (Schedule 2).

In 2013, with the intention of streamlining the arbitrator appointment process, HKIAC introduced standard terms of appointment (subject to any variation agreed by all parties) to which all arbitrators appointed in accordance with the 2013 Rules must agree. The introduction of such uniformity is intended to help to simplify and expedite negotiations between parties and their chosen arbitrators facilitating a faster commencement of the substantive proceedings.

HKIAC has issued two Practice Notes to assist arbitrators and parties with the implementation of its standard terms and conditions of appointment:

 

  • Challenge of an Arbitrator

A challenge to an arbitrator in an arbitration administered by HKIAC under any of the following arbitration rules will be determined by HKIAC in accordance with the procedures set out in the Practice Note on the Challenge Rules:

  1. 2013 HKIAC Administered Arbitration Rules;
  2. 2008 HKIAC Administered Arbitration Rules;
  3. any other arbitration rules issued by HKIAC which designate HKIAC to decide challenges to arbitrators;  
  4. 2010 UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules (with or without paragraph 4 of Article 1 as introduced in 2013); or
  5. 1976 UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules.

and in any other arbitration in which the parties agree the Practice Note shall apply.

The Practice Note came into force on 31 October 2014 and replaces the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre Challenge Rules adopted on 25 March 2008 and the Practice Note on the Challenge of an Arbitrator effective on 1 November 2013. For the avoidance of doubt, this Practice Note shall be treated as the Challenge Rules referred to in Article 11.7 of the 2008 HKIAC Administered Arbitration Rules.

 

  • Consolidation of Arbitrations

The Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC) is pleased to introduce the Practice Note on Consolidation of Arbitrations (Practice Note), which came into effect on 1 January 2016.  

The Practice Note applies to arbitrations in which a Request for Consolidation (Request) is submitted under Article 28 of the 2013 HKIAC Administered Arbitration Rules (Rules) on or after 1 January 2016.  It supplements the consolidation provisions of the Rules by setting out the particulars to be included in the Request and any response thereto.  

 

Share this